The Constitutional Convention Ratified the United States Constitution in 1789

PHILADELPHIA - The United States Constitution was ratified on December 7, 1787, by five states: Pennsylvania, Georgia, Connecticut, and Massachusetts. Other states opposed the document because it did not safeguard their basic political rights. All fifty states eventually ratified the Constitution, except for the District of Columbia. It was drafted by James Madison, who subsequently served as President of the United States from 1789 to 1794.

James Madison and Alexander Hamilton drafted the Articles of Confederation. They sought to preserve the independence and sovereignty of the states by assigning only essential national functions to the federal government. Unfortunately, the events of 1781-1787 demonstrated that this plan was not workable. The Articles also deprived the national government of essential powers, such as direct taxation and regulation of interstate commerce. Despite these shortcomings, the Constitutional Convention ratified the United States Constitution in 1789.

The United States Constitution also established basic political institutions. Article I vests all legislative powers in Congress. Senators are elected by the states, while House members serve two-year terms. In addition, each state has two senators. Senators serve six-year terms. Other powers granted to Congress by the Constitution include levying taxes, borrowing money, regulating interstate commerce, and forming military forces.

The Constitution guarantees that persons born in the United States or naturalized in the United States shall have full faith in any state's public acts and judicial proceedings. The Constitution also states that the legislatures of the states may not abridge the rights and privileges of citizens of other states. In addition, individuals must be returned to the state where they were charged with a crime. 


Subscribe to the Blokk newsletter to receive timely updates from your favorite products.